French Open Champions

The French Open is said to be the most physically challenging of all the grand slam tennis events and it is the only one contested on red clay. Players who are successful at French Open are generally true clay court technicians. Only the true greats of the game have been able to add the French Open to their other Grand Slam titles

Bjorn Borg

Bjorn Borg is arguably one of the finest tennis players the world has ever seen, he reached the peak of his career in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s. He won convincingly on both clay and grass, becoming one of only a handful of players in history to master both surfaces.

Borg won a total of 61 ATP singles titles and 11 grand slams. He lifted the Coupe des Mousquetaires in Paris a total of six times and claimed the men’s singles crown at Wimbledon an incredible five times in consecutive years – a record which was recently equalled by Roger Federer.

Bjorn Borg will go down in the annals of French open history as one of the greatest French Open Champions and players of clay the world has ever known – a remarkable feat from a remarkable athlete.

Chris Evert

Chris Evert is considered to be the female counterpart of Bjorn Borg and was at her peak at virtually the same time as the all-conquering Swede. Evert holds the record for the longest winning streak on clay, winning 125 consecutive clay court matches from 1973 to 1979!

Evert claimed 18 grand slam singles titles in her career and set a record in Paris which still stands today, 22 years on. She claimed the Coupe Suzanne Lenglen a total of seven times, with only the legendary Steffi Graf getting close, with 6 victories in Paris.

Some believe that Evert was an even more versatile player than Borg. Over the years she won all four of the grand slams and set a record at the US Open for the most wins, with six titles. Her grand slam accomplishments include:

  • Australian Open – (2) 1982, 1984
  • French Open – (7) 1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985, 1986
  • Wimbledon – (3) 1974, 1976, 1981
  • US Open – (6) 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982